Waterston Desert Writing Prize

This prize is for a proposed book of literary non-fiction that illustrates artistic excellence, sensitivity to place, and desert literacy – with the desert both as subject and setting. Writing samples about deserts and natural settings are more likely to be reviewed favorably. Apart from the cash award, there is also a residency at PLAYA at Summer Lake and a reading and reception at the High Desert Museum in Bend, Oregon.
Value: $2,500, residency
Deadline: 1 May 2021
Open for: All writers
Details here and here.

The Sunlight Press Short Fiction Award
This is their fifth flash fiction contest. They want original (previously unpublished) stories 1,000 words or less. Entries that do not win the prize may be selected for regular publishing in the journal.
Value: $500
Deadline: 15 May 2021
Open for: All writers
Details here.

Jerry Jazz Musician Short Fiction Contest
This is an international fiction contest. While the story should appeal to the audience of this magazine, all themes will be considered. Their readers have interests in music, social history, literature, politics, art, film and theater, particularly that of the counter-culture of mid-twentieth century America. Ideally, stories should not exceed 3,000 words, but those up to 5,000 words will be considered.
Value: $100
Deadline: 31 May 2021
Open for: All writers
Details here.

Bacopa Literary Review Writing Contest
They have prizes in poetry (1-3 poems), prose poetry (25-250 words), creative non-fiction (up to 2,500 words), and fiction (up to 2,500 words).
Value: $300 first prize, $100 second prize in each category
Reading period: 1-31 May 2021
Open for: All writers
Details here.

The Flora Nwapa Prize for Feminist Writing is an annual award for the best unpublished work of fiction or non-fiction written in English by any writer with a feminist theme.

Established in 2020 by Onyeka Nwelue, a Nigerian writer and multi-art specialist, the prize seeks to reward the best unpublished full-length work of fiction or non-fiction written in English with a feminist theme, in honor of Flora Nwapa, Africa’s first female novelist, who considered her work ‘womanist.’

The winner receives $1000 and the prize is run by the Flora Nwapa Foundation and Tana Press.


a) The Flora Nwapa Prize for Feminist Writing is worth $1000 to the winner. The Prize is awarded by a panel of judges appointed each year by The Flora Nwapa Foundation.
b) The Prize is awarded annually for the best first unpublished full-length work of fiction or non-fiction written in English with a feminist theme.
c) The winner of the Prize will be selected from a long list of ten titles, followed by a shortlist of three outstanding manuscripts submitted for the prize.


a) Any eligible manuscript which is entered for the Prize will only qualify if they meet the criteria for submission and it satisfies the conditions set out in the rules.
b) The winning author will be signed to World Arts Agency if they do not have an agent.
c) Each shortlisted author will be invited to attend the Prize ceremony.
d) The curators reserve the right to vary the Rules and Conditions of Entry and may also alter the published program without prior notice as necessary.


a) Writers may enter up to two unpublished full-length manuscripts.
b) Entry forms must be submitted by May 1st, 2021 to submission@floranwapaprize.com
c) The Flora Nwapa Foundation will acknowledge every entry.


a) Any full-length unpublished manuscript of fiction or non-fiction with a feminist theme is eligible.
b) Authors must be living at the time of submission.
c) Only manuscripts in English are eligible.
d) The decision of the Judges shall be binding and final.
e) All submissions are made on a confidential basis.

1. A long list of ten titles will be announced on July 1st, 2021.
2. A shortlist of three titles will be announced on August 1st, 2021.
3. The winner will be announced on October 16, 2021. (Flora Nwapa died on October 16, 1993)


Aduke Gomez (Chair)

Innocent Mutanga

Teri Sillo